Skip to content

What’s In a Name?

July 24, 2009

EnneagramI hate naming things. It’s really a problem, since one day I do actually intend to have a child and since, today, I’m supposed to be a writer. But God, how hard is it to choose just a few words to capture ideas the size of novels? It involves a lot of thinking and staring out windows, which I admit is a large reason I chose my career, but during the creative moment, it really just pisses me off. It’s like being constipated–you’ve got it right there, but it just won’t come out.

Naming this blog, however, was just as easy as if I’d had my daily dose of fiber.

See, I knew I wanted it to be about adventure. About enthusiasm, curiosity, travel, culture-essentially a continuation of road trip I’d taken during the summer of 2009. So I did what any good writer would do and Googled enthusiasm. I landed on Wikipedia, and there, at the bottom, my holy grail:

The Enthusiast also refers to the “Type Seven” personality type … People who fall into this modern definition of “enthusiasts” are adventurous, constantly busy with many activities with all the energy and enthusiasm of the Puer Aeternus (Peter Pan Complex). At their best they embrace life for its varied joys and wonders and truly live in the moment but, at their worst, they dash frantically from one new experience to another, too scared of disappointment to actually enjoy themselves. Enthusiasts fear being unable to provide for themselves or to experience life in all of its richness.”

When I read that, I felt like that poop had finally…sorry. Done with that metaphor.

In all seriousness, Type7 was perfect. It describes the way I changed and hope to keep living, post-travel. This blog makes me accountable for that lifestyle, so, really, I couldn’t think of a better fit. Plus, Type 7 is one of nine different personality types revealed on an enneagram, a nine-sided geometric figure that has been around since 2500 B.C. and can be used to describe  “any natural whole phenomenon, cosmos, process in life or any other piece of knowledge.” You can’t really argue with that.

*SIDENOTE: While writing this post, I debated using the word “gurning,” except I wasn’t sure if it actually was a word, so I Googled it. Turns out, gurning is a sick face manipulation (sport?) that even has a gurning championship! Check it out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 7:15 pm

    Blair, although I was silent throughout, I followed casseroles and now I intend to follow this blog. It speaks to me :). I am a veteran US road tripper and I just completed my life-changing trip (backpacking in South America). I read the description for type 7 and it’s me!!?!? So, as I make my move to the semi-normal, semi-stable life in new York, I am scared that the thrills of travel will most likely be replaced with something obviously less thrilling (law school). So I’ll stay tuned maybe you will open my eyes on how exactly a type 7 is supposed to survive standing still.

    • blairh313 permalink*
      July 28, 2009 3:36 am

      Maya, I adore everything you just said. That’s what I was hoping to do with the blog, and now that you’re moving to New York, perhaps we can be Type 7 partners in crime! Keep me posted on the move.

  2. June 8, 2013 3:21 am

    you are in point of fact a just right webmaster. The website loading velocity is incredible.
    It seems that you are doing any distinctive trick.
    Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you have done
    a fantastic job on this topic!

  3. June 8, 2014 9:19 pm

    Puis-je vous reprendre deux trois phrases pour mon blog personnel ?

Trackbacks

  1. The Time Has Come To Say Adieu « Type Seven

Leave a Reply

