Skip to content

Teens use BLACKBERRIES??

August 28, 2009

twitter_by_ageThe last month or so, the social media blogosphere has been buzzing about how teens don’t use Twitter. It started with a Nielsen study that showed that only 16% of teens use the service, and now, a few days ago, the New York Times published an article trying to get to the bottom of the matter.

Now, I’m not really sure how this issue has gained as much attention and analysis as, say, whether or not Michael Jackson is alive. When I read it back in June, I thought nothing of it because the study only considered web-based users. Maybe it’s just me, but I think web-Twitter blows; it only returns about 50% of my “find people” and I can’t, for the life of me, seem to remember how to use a DM. That’s why I use Seesmic, a desktop application, or TwitterBerry. Furthermore, how many teens do you know who sit down at a computer for 9 hours a day? Maybe things have changed since I was 17, but I seem to remember a thing called school. 

This guy did a great job of breaking down the scientific short-comings of the Nielsen study. But I’d also like to know how many teens are mobile Twitter users. Maybe I’m crazy, but isn’t this kind of a big factor that’s being overlooked?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

