Skip to content

Michael Jackson: A Business Inspiration

September 14, 2009

Picture 4I can’t stop watching this tribute to Michael Jackson from last night’s VMAs. The man had so much creativity, so much talent, and harnessed it to create one of the most successful careers of all time. So inspirational. (Click to the left to be redirected to MTVs site. And watch out for Janet’s appearance; my favorite part).

Michael Jackson hit on the intersection of value and passion, the key to a successful career, according to Zen Habit’s recent article “The World Needs You to Do What You Love.” It’s a great article, and you should read all of it. I agree with everything they say, and the fact that I refuse to get a “real job” serves as Exhibit A. But I’ve still had trouble choosing between what I like and what I love, between value and passion.

The past few weeks, I’ve devoted most of my time towards my other life as a social media consultant. It’s great, and I love my clients, and it gives me enough money to buy both food and a chambray shirt from J. Crew, but it doesn’t erase the fact that I used to write reports on the history of horses when I was 7. For fun. It doesn’t erase the fact that I’m generally too tired to write this blog or work on my Casseroles for Cancer essay. It has come to a point where I need to choose between business and writing. And it’s not just about time. I’m already working 13+ hours a day, and I’m fine with that, but I use the same part of my brain for creative marketing campaigns as I do for writing. And I’m starting to understand why most aspiring writers are either waiters or homeless.

So my question is what do you do when you like one thing and love the other? What do you do when the industry you love is tanking and the one you like is about to explode? How do you choose?

*In other news, until the dough starts rolling in, I’ve taken to bartering. Early this morning, I went to the Strand and traded in The Modern Girl’s Guide to Life and Nice Girls Don’t Get the Corner Office for The Art of Happiness and How to Practice, both by the Dalai Lama. Seemed like a good life choice. Next? Selling clothes at Buffalo Exchange so I can get this cardigan from Uniqlo. Tit for tat, one for the other. You should give it a shot.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    September 18, 2009 2:07 am

    Is this where the “cloud of unknowing” starts to show up?

Leave a Reply

