Skip to content

30 Days, 30 Coffee Shops: Everyman Espresso

October 12, 2009

everymanoutsideI’m visiting one new coffee shop every day for a month. Mainly because I broke my coffee pot. Check out the other reasons and guidelines here. And if you have any recommendations, please let me know!

Day 2

Things I’m learning from my cafe hopping experience:

1. Top 40 hits make the best work soundtrack. Everyman Espresso blasted Beyonce, and like the angry hippies sitting outside, I wasn’t sure if my morning mind could take it. But it was wonderful; people came in and started dancing and head bopping, and it was kind of like working in a club, which isn’t working at all. And if Beyonce doesn’t tickle your creative genius, the angry hippies outside also said the music changes with the barista. Have hope.

2. Staring at a wall blows while you’re working. Everyman Espresso has adopted a certain, uh, minimalist attitude towards its seating. It’s a spacious Everyman Viewplace, but they only have 5 steel-brushed tables clustered in the middle and bar-seating that wraps around the wall. They do have pretty little wildflowers on every table, and a lovely white wash on the exposed brick, but still. It’s a wall. Not exactly stimulating.

3. NYC has all kinds of surprises. Everyman Espresso sits in the lobby of a theater…surprise! The Classic Stage Company, an award winning Off Broadway theater that repackages classic greats for a contemporary audience, lends Everyman space in their lobby (which may also explain the lack of seating.) They seem like a legit theater, with award-winning directors and actors (like two-time Academy Award winner Dianne Wiest), taking part in their productions. Check out this season’s Everymanproductions here.

4. Books and fair trade makes everything better. Like I said last time, one of my childhood goals was to read all of the books in the library. Seeing Passage to India underneath free-standing fair trade coffee and pictures of hard-working natives made my heart a-flutter.

5. I really don’t like paying for coffee. A latte at this place cost $4. Maybe there was a milk shortage, which also explains why they only had half and half on the counter, or maybe most of the middle-aged hipsters and NYU artists who walked in value caffeine over sustenance. But I need sandwiches. And if I am, in fact, going to pay $2.50 for a small cup of drip, I want it to taste good and come in a sturdy cup which, unfortunately, it did not. According to review, the espresso is to die for, but I just can’t bring myself to pay over $3 for coffee. They also had no tea, so, unfortunately, I have to give Everyman a “D” in the drink department.

6. Brooders suck. A lot of coffee shops have kind of surly staff, writers and artists brooding over their next piece while they whip your milk, but the staff at Everyman was so pleasant. When I discovered this place was cash only, the girl behind the counter let me take my coffee with me to the ATM because “she trusted me.” That’s real love. And as the 10 or so regulars who walked in prove, it keeps people coming back.

Wrap-up

Name: Everyman Espresso

Location: 13th between 3rd and 4th

Wi-fi: Fast and free

Need to know: Cash only

Grade: B

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sashakking permalink
    October 13, 2009 7:42 pm

    We do have tea and the small coffee is 1.50. Thanks for the review!

    Sam

    • blairh313 permalink*
      October 13, 2009 9:14 pm

      Ah, how unfortunate, then that I paid $2.50! Must have been a mix-up. Enjoyed everything else about the place, though

Leave a Reply

