Skip to content

30 Days, 30 Coffeeshops: B Cup

October 15, 2009

IMG00100Day 4

Zyrtec is making me fat. Supposedly, only 2% of people gain weight, and experts suggest, as a countermeasure, regular exercise and a heart-healthy diet. Lies. All lies. I exercise regularly. I eat better than anyone I know. But Zyrtec dehydrates me so much that yesterday morning, I had two bowls of cereal, two pieces of peanut butter toast, an omlette and a Balance Bar between the hours of 8 and 11 am. Fat.

Not to mention, I was still drowsy, snotty, headachy and irritable. So today, I stopped taking Zyrtec. Doctors called me the allergy baby when I came out of the womb, so my decision to go cold turkey…kind of a big deal. And so it was in an allergy-induced haze that I headed to B Cup Cafe, a place my friend Molly recommended, at which all I could manage to think was “Oh, I’m a B Cup, too.”

Now I want to know: is it so wrong if I choose a winner 4 days in to the coffee shop challenge? This place is, quite possibly, perfect in every way.

Staff-Beyond nice

Eats-Delicious. Just look at this sandwich menu. They also have every kind of cookie you could ever want: pumpkin nut, double granola, oatmeal, sesame honey and, what really won my heart, “Big Oreo.”

Coffee-Drool. I took the drip coffee black (which I’ve decided I’ll do at every place, for integrity’s sake), and I drank it like water.

Wi-Fi– Fast, fast, fast and free. They also have a couple computers up front for Internet use.

Seating– Plentiful. And cozy. And outlets are everywhere. Literally. I asked the barista, and he said “Back there, over there, IMG00099everywhere! You can even sit on the couches, if you want.” (That’s right. Couchessss. They have about 6 to choose from). I could have stayed here all day. Just look at my little nook. I could have made out…in front of an outlet…and no one would have known.

Ambiance– Other than the screaming psychadelic art on the front windows, this was the coziest, lightest place I’ve yet to visit. Mary J. Blige, The Police, Jack Johnson…no music was off limits, but it was all relaxing. Best of all, I didn’t feel like the staff wanted to kick me out. They had too much seating to be mad.

The only two drawbacks to this great shop is that they’re kind of far from the subway (1st Ave. L stop is the closest) and they’re cash only. But then again, there is an ATM in the front. Perfect.

My experience at B Cup was so pleasant, I almost forgot I had snot running down my face the whole time. More than I can say for Zyrtec. That just made me irritable, drowsy, anxious and fat, and the more I’ve checked into the reviews, the more I’m starting to think it’s not safe. Or worth it. Bring on the acupuncture and the coffee shops.

Grade: A

I’m visiting one new coffee shop every day for a month. Mainly because I broke my coffee pot. Check out the other reasons and guidelines here. And if you have any recommendations, please let me know!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 8:57 pm

    B-Cup is the bomb. Those laid back Israelis have created the perfect coffee shop indeed. I further endorse your “A” grade!

  2. nina permalink
    October 15, 2009 10:08 pm

    umm lets see a picture of this “big oreo” blair!

Leave a Reply

