Skip to content

30 Days, 30 Coffee Shops: It’s Not OK To Hoard Your Bathroom!

October 29, 2009

IMG00110Day 15: Cafe Pick-Me-Up

I’m visiting one new coffee shop every day for a month. Mainly because I broke my coffee pot. Check out the other reasons and guidelines here. And if you have any recommendations, please let me know!

So clearly, the title of this post is not the name of the coffee shop I visited. But here’s the thing: the staff buzzes you into the bathroom at this place, and then they don’t keep other people out. That’s right, while I was on the pot, they buzzed in another patron. And there’s no way for you to lock the door. And, to top it all off, this, on the right, is what they’re protecting.

I realize the buzzer is probably due to said graffiti, but the bathroom is right next to the counter. Can’t you notice when someone’s been in there long enough to do this to your walls?

I wanted to like this place. I really did. I’d even tweeted myself a reminder to check it out, because I am a sucker for vintage wooden furniture and yellow walls. However:

IMG00112

Wi-fi: Costs money

Coffee: Tasted like water

Payment: Cash only

Staff: Pleasant. They get a good grade.

Ambience: Nice at first, but the music’s too loud, and the tables have an awkward spatial arrangement, which kind of makes it feel like a classroom. In fact, the only desks with outlets stare directly at a wall. If I remember correctly, this was time out at Alpine Crest Elementary.

It did, however, make me realize that I really need some help discerning a quality cup of coffee from poo. I know the stuff I had tasted like water…that much I can tell…but what really makes a good cup? What should I, a novice, pay attention to? Is there a three-step process to enjoying coffee as you enjoy a glass of wine? If you have any answers, please let me know.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

