Skip to content

Think Coffee and the Proust Questionaire. Like Bread and Butter.

November 3, 2009
IMG00115

perhaps the patrons that ordered and forgot their bagel?

Day 17

Think Coffee (the new one): 4th Ave. between 11th and 12th Streets

I got a splinter in my butt at Think Coffee. Partially because they just opened, and their benches still seem to lack polyurethane, and partially because I was wearing leggings, which I’m trying not to do because “hobo” is not an acceptable every day look and once in a while, I should really put some pants on. Guess that bench showed me.

Other than the terrible splinter-in-the-butt incident (which, though awful, doesn’t nearly rival Kate’s November of 2007 debacle. Think scalpel.), I very much liked Think Coffee. They have tons of tables, the wi-fi is free,  the coffee fresh and, wonder of wonders, they accidentally made a bagel with cream cheese and offered it up for free. Which obviously I took advantage of. They could use a few more outlets, tables and tchotchkes to fill their expansive space, but generally speaking, I give this place a B+

Also, while at Think Coffee, I stumbled upon the Proust Questionairre on some blog or another. Inspired by French writer Marcel Proust, the questionairrre came in vogue amongst the British in the late 1800s, and is still used, in adapted form, by Vanity Fair and James Lipton of Inside the Actor’s Studio. Which makes it A-OK by me. Plus, how fetch that I found a questionairre to make you think about yourself at Think Coffee  (yes, I just used the word fetch.) Anyway, on the verge of a career change myself, it seemed pertinent to fill it out. In case you’re interested, here are some of my answers:

What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Living in the moment. Being with family. Waking up every day and doing a job I love that makes a difference, while also occasionally flinging me to places like Mozambique.

What is your greatest fear?

Being alone.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

I think too much. And I can’t make moves. My old life coach called it “Analysis-Paralysis” personality. Course, then I fired her, sooo….not sure what that means.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Selfishness. Writing people off. Ignorance

Which living person do you most admire?

Elizabeth Gilbert. Dave Eggers. Anyone who has taken hardship and turned it into a kick-ass, funny career.

What is your current state of mind?

Foggy. Need to get more allergy medicine. Also, panicked, confused and excited about my next career move, all at the same time.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Hard work. Figure out what you need to do to get ahead, and then do that. More of us should live like Europeans and enjoy the down time in life. One of my favorite sayings:

“If I have an empty afternoon in New York, I feel like a failure. If I have a free afternoon in Paris, I feel like a success.”

What do you most dislike about your appearance?

Currently, the massive reactive rash I had to a new eyeshadow I tried this weekend.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

Spunk. And loyalty. And honesty.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

Same. And self esteem.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

Seriously? I don’t know. I don’t pay attention to myself that much.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Still looking. I would say my sister, but that seems incestuous. My cupcake.

When and where were you happiest?

On Casseroles for Cancer, and right when I returned. Or maybe at Brown.

Which talent would you most like to have?

The ability to run on less than 7 hours of sleep. Also, the ability to not get bored after 20 minutes on the treadmill. And I wish I could paint.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Getting out of Tennessee. Also, optimism and happiness. I’ve worked hard at both.

If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

Any cat I have ever owned.

Where would you most like to live?

Right now, New York. I’ve tested out most of the other cities in the states, and for this part of my life, this is it. When I get old and have a family, I’d move back to Rhode Island in a heart beat. Also, I’d move anywhere over seas, except any country ending in -aq or -stan.

What is your favorite occupation?

Who ever really knows. But right now: writer. Anything creative.

What do you most value in your friends?

The fact that even though they sometimes get so wrapped in the moment they miss my calls, they will always be there for me. I even love they get wrapped up in the moment. That, and Little Veselka.

Who are your favorite writers?

God, I can’t pick. Eggers, Gilbert, Kundera, John Irving, Toni Morrison, Bill Bryson, Sedaris. Anyone with a bit of a bite.

What is it that you most dislike?

Pigeons. I have never held so much hatred for  a living thing.

What is your greatest regret?

Not taking the Village Voice Media Fellowship simply because it was in Miami and I had to decide five months before graduation.

How would you like to die?

Either sleeping and very old, or doing something bad ass in an attempt to save the world.

What is your motto?

Just try it.

I’m visiting one new coffee shop every day for a month. Mainly because I broke my coffee pot. Check out the other reasons and guidelines here. And if you have any recommendations, please let me know!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 7:46 am

    all of these make me miss new york so much… you could probably visit a new coffee shop every day for a year there are sooo many little places there. have fun!

    • blairh313 permalink*
      November 8, 2009 9:12 pm

      So true! Next up: visit every coffee shop in NYC. Period. Think I’d get a spot in the Guiness World Records?

  2. silverneurotic permalink
    November 8, 2009 8:50 pm

    Everytime I go into the city, I tend to forget that there are other coffee shops besides Starbucks…because it’s basically all I see. Next time I’m there (which I don’t know when that’ll be) I’ll have to go on a mission to find a Non Starbucks coffee shop to hang out in.

    • blairh313 permalink*
      November 8, 2009 9:10 pm

      So happy to hear you say that! If you ever need recommendations, you know where to find me:)

Leave a Reply

