Skip to content

What To Bring To Guatemala

August 31, 2010

Hint: not a rolling suitcase.

I’m blogging over on the Lost Girls today, about expectations, travel lows and the correct equipaje for a third world country. More to come on this blog about the trip. Retroactively, of course, ’cause that’s what makes the Internet so great.

Dispatches From the Road: Guatemala

San Marcos, Guatemala is a tiny town on the shores of Lake Atitlan, deep in the Western Guatemalan Highlands. Lush volcanoes and Mayan villages pepper the shore, and with clear views of both, San Marcos has become Guatemala’s epicenter of zen and spirituality. People come here to cook, to read, to study Spanish, to write, to do yoga and to be alone. Precisely what I thought I wanted to do  before $60,000 worth of grad school loans prevent me from ever doing that again.

Turns out, I suck at anticipating what I want. Or what I need. Or, really, deciding anything, at all, in advance.

READ MORE HERE!

No comments yet

Leave a comment